new brunswick anti tobacco coalition
Home Site Map Français Contact Us
http://nbatc.ca/en/uploads/images/topImages/header_resources.png
Resources: Youth and Young Adults

Youth and Young Adults: Legislation in New Brunswick

Smoke-Free Places Act 
New Brunswick Government
The Smoke-Free Places Act eliminates exposure to tobacco use and second-hand smoke where we work, learn and play, which helps protect our health, prevent smoking initiation by youth and prevents relapses in adults who are trying to or have already quit. This legislation prohibits smoking cigarettes as well as vaping electronic cigarettes and the use of water pipes in all enclosed public places, indoor workplaces, and school grounds, as well as in vehicles when a person under the age of 16 is present. As of July 1, 2015, the Smoke-Free Places Act has expanded the areas in which smoking cigarettes as well as using electronic cigarettes and water pipes is not permitted to include many public outdoor settings. A toll-free number is provided to report violations of the Smoke-free Places Act and to obtain additional information on this legislation: 1-866-234-4234. 
View the Act online.

Tobacco and Electronic Cigarette Sales Act
New Brunswick Government
The purpose of the Tobacco and Electronic Cigarette Sales Act is to protect the health of New Brunswickers, especially youth, by restricting their access to tobacco products and electronic cigarettes and preventing the display of tobacco products which helps in reducing the visibility of tobacco. As of January 1, 2016, the Tobacco and Electronic Cigarette Sales Act prohibits the sale of all flavoured tobacco products, including menthol, in New Brunswick. The sale of e-cigarettes and e-juices to persons under 19 years of age is also prohibited.
View the Act online. 

Tobacco Tax Act
New Brunswick Government
Raising the price of tobacco products through taxation discourages youth from starting to smoke. Increasing licensing fees discourages retailers from selling tobacco which reduces the overall number of tobacco retailers.
View the Act online.

Youth and Young Adults: Smoking Rates and Susceptibility to Smoking

Social Media Influences on Tobacco Use in Adolescents
New Brunswick Anti-Tobacco Coalition - 2017
This infographic shows key statistics related to how social media promotes smoking and tobacco use among adolescents. 
Download in JPG format.
Download in PDF format.

 

Movie Influences on Tobacco Use in Adolescents 
New Brunswick Anti-Tobacco Coalition - 2017
This infographic shows key statistics related to the use of tobacco in movies and its influence on youth smoking behaviours. 
Download in JPG format.
Download in PDF format. 

Susceptibility to Smoking Amongst Youth in New Brunswick
New Brunswick Anti-Tobacco Coalition and New Brunswick Health Council - 2014
Susceptibility to smoking is defined as “the absence of a firm decision not to smoke.” This represents youth who have never tried smoking, but are at risk of smoking in the future. Susceptibility is therefore useful for predicting which youth may become smokers. This document presents statistics related to New Brunswick youth as well as some ideas on how parents and  teachers can take action to reduce susceptibility to smoking among youth.
Download the document (PDF).

 

 

 

Achieving Tobacco-Free Living: A Priority in New Brunswick
New Brunswick Health Council - 2017
This infographic presents key statistics related to tobacco use in New Brunswick, including youth. For example, according to the New Brunswick Health Council, 9,000 youth in New Brunswick are at risk of becoming smokers. 
Download the document (PDF).

 

 

 

 

New Brunswick Student Wellness Survey - Grades 6-12
New Brunswick Department of Social Development - 2016
The New Brunswick Student Wellness Survey is a provincial initiative of the Department of Social Development – Wellness Branch, in co-operation with the Department of Education and Early Childhood Development. Data collection and analysis is conducted by the New Brunswick Health Council. The purpose of the survey is to examine the health and wellness attitudes and behaviours of students in grades 6 to 12, and to share data to promote action around wellness. The data was collected from 38,573 students across 183 schools in New Brunswick.

New Brunswick Student Wellness Survey - Grades 6-12 (2015-2016)

Youth Smoking Survey
Health Canada - 2013
The Youth Smoking Survey provides timely and accurate monitoring of tobacco use in school-aged youth (grades 6-12). Please note that New Brunswick did not participate in 2012-2013.



Canadian Student Tobacco, Alcohol and Drugs Survey
Statistics Canada and Health Canada - 2018
This national survey—which measures tobacco, alcohol and drug use among Canadian students in grades 7 to 12 (secondary I to V in Quebec)—provides valuable information that will inform approaches to addressing complex health and social issues such as the problematic use of tobacco, alcohol and drugs, including opioids and cannabis.

Canadian Tobacco, Alcohol and Drugs Survey
Statistics Canada and Health Canada - 2018
The Canadian Tobacco, Alcohol and Drugs Survey is a biennial general population survey of tobacco, alcohol and illicit drug use among Canadians aged 15 years and older:

The Student and School Neighbourhood Characteristics Associated with Smoking Susceptibility Among Secondary School Students (Grades 9-12) in Canada
Dr. Susan Kaai - University of Waterloo - 2015
This presentation by Dr. Susan Kaai was offered to the New Brunswick Anti-Tobacco Coalition as part of a webinar on the topic of smoking susceptibility among youth.
Download the presentation slides (PDF)

 

Preventing Problematic Substance Abuse in Youth
Chief Public Health Officer, Government of Canada (2018)
Learn what you can do to raise awareness about prevention, harm reduction, treatment and recovery related to susbtace abuse, including tobacco, among youth.
View it here.  

 

 

 

 

Youth and Young Adults: Tobacco Education and Prevention

New Brunswick Wellness Movement
New Brunswick Department of Social Development 
The Wellness Movement encourages communities, groups, schools and workplaces to make a commitment to a healthy lifestyle, including tobacco-free living. 
Visit wellnessnb.ca for more information and resources

 

 

Make Your Home and Car Smoke-Free: Information for Youth
Health Canada - 2015
This guide is intended to help youth with parents who smoke get rid of second-hand smoke in their family home and car by giving them tips to get their family on board.
View online.
Download PDF.

 

 

 



Keep Your Kids Smoke-Free
Health Canada - 2010
By being aware of the potential risk factors for tobacco use, you can be better prepared to support healthy tobacco-free choices for your children. This guide provides strategies and tips that parents can use to keep their children and youth smoke-free. 
View online. 

 


Youth Zone - Health Concerns - Smoking
Health Canada - 2010
Too many young Canadians are still tempted by smoking. By giving them the facts about what smoking means to their body, their environment and who's actually benefiting from the sale of tobacco products, they can make an informed decision about tobacco.
View online.



Freeze the Industry - Youth and Young Adults Campaign in Support of Plain and Standardized Tobacco Packaging
Freeze the Industry (campaign)
Freeze the Industry is a large and fast-growing network of youth activists standing against the Tobacco Industry. Their mission is to expose the false sense of power tobacco companies have on society and make them accountable for the harm they cause. 
View website.



My Journey with Tobacco: Youth Tobacco Cessation Toolkit and Facilitator's Guide
National Association of Friendship Centres
There is an increasing need for Aboriginal youth tobacco cessation programming and resources. The National Association of Friendship Centres, through research, interviews, and workshops, has identified a framework to support Aboriginal youth tobacco cessation (including activities and practice guidelines). 
Download the Youth Cessation ToolKit (PDF)
Download the Facilitator Guide (PDF)

 

 

 

Better to Breathe
Young Adults Leadership Team 
Better to Breathe was founded by the Young Adult Leadership Team as a national initiative to lower tobacco consumption rates in Canada’s youth. Initially a blog, this website seeks to showcase resources and interesting campaigns regarding tobacco awareness and cessation. 
View the website.

Youth and Young Adults: Smoking Cessation

Break It Off!
Health Canada 
Quitting smoking is like leaving a bad relationship. Difficult but you KNOW it's good for you. The free Break It Off Mobile App even helps you through those moments of weakness, so you can dump smoking once and for all.
View the website.

 


Quit 4 Life - Break the Habit 
Health Canada - 2012
Did you know that it takes more than will power to quit smoking? It takes skills and support, as well as your own motivation to quit. The new Quit4Life (Q4L) handbook can help you to quit smoking... for life. Q4L is organized around 4 central steps: Get Psyched, Get Smart, Get Support, Get On With It. The handbook will help you learn about why you smoke, how to quit and how to stay smoke-free once you get there.
View online. 

On the Road to Quitting: Guide to Becoming a Non–Smoker for Young Adults
Health Canada - 2013
No matter how near or far you are from your goal of quitting smoking, this booklet will help you figure out what you want to do and provide the information you need to move forward. The steps are simple, and will help you quit smoking and stay smoke-free. On the Road to Quitting provides you with the facts, some food for thought, and ultimately arms you with the skills and motivation needed to make a plan when you’re ready to quit.
View online.
Download PDF. 

Youth and Young Adults: Grants and Funding Opportunities

School Wellness Grants
New Brunswick Department of Social Development 
These grants encourage and support New Brunswick schools to contribute to the wellness of their students and their community. The grants provide financial resources to schools to support the implementation of Comprehensive School Health (CSH) approaches to increase mental fitness, healthy eating, physical activity and tobacco-free living among their students and within their community. 
View website.

Take Action Against Tobacco Use (TATU) Grants
New Brunswick Department of Social Development 
This grant program provides up to $5,000 to support community-led initiatives to increase tobacco-free living and strengthen community action with an emphasis on youth-led initiatives, partnerships and comprehensive actions. 
View website.

Youth and Young Adults: Other Resources

Be sure to view the following pages on our website which have resources related to tobacco education and prevention, as well as smoking cessation:

  • E-cigarettes, vaping products and flavoured tobacco
    Information and statistics on health effects and risks related to electronic cigarettes, vaping products, waterpipes, hookah and sisha. 

  • Cannabis
    Information on cannabis legalization in Canada, links to reports on cannabis use and public education information on the topic, including health risks.  
  • Tobacco-Free Living Champions
    Get inspired! As part of its vision to promote a tobacco-free province, the New Brunswick Anti-Tobacco Coalition shares success stories from individuals, groups and organizations who have taken action to live tobacco-free in their homes, schools, workplaces and communities. Many of these stories showcase projects undertaken by youth groups, schools, colleges and universities.

Coalition antitabac du N.-B.
Accueil Plan du Site English Contactez-nous
http://www.nbatc.ca/fr/uploads/images/topImages/header_resources.png
Ressources : Adolescents et jeunes adultes

Adolescents et jeunes adultes: Politiques au Nouveau-Brunswick

Loi sur les endroits sans fumée
Gouvernement du Nouveau-Brunswick
La Loi sur les endroits sans fumée élimine l’exposition au tabagisme et à la fumée secondaire dans les endroits où nous travaillons, étudions et jouons, ce qui permet de protéger la santé et prévenir l’initiation au tabagisme chez les jeunes ainsi que les rechutes chez les adultes qui tentent de cesser de fumer ou ont déjà réussi à le faire. Cette loi interdit aux gens de fumer de la cigarette ainsi que de faire usage de cigarettes électroniques et de pipes à eau dans tous les endroits publics fermés, lieux de travail intérieurs, terrains d’école et dans les véhicules en présence d'une personne âgée de moins de 16 ans. Depuis le 1er juillet 2015, la liste des espaces où il est interdit de fumer des cigarettes, des cigarettes électroniques et des pipes à eau contenue dans la Loi sur les endroits sans fumée du Nouveau-Brunswick s'est enrichie de nombreux espaces publics extérieurs. Un numéro sans frais est à votre disposition pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements et pour signaler une violation de la Loi sur les endroits sans fumée : 1-866-234-4234.
Consulter le document en ligne.

Loi sur les ventes de tabac et de cigarettes électroniques 
Gouvernement du Nouveau-Brunswick
La Loi sur les ventes de tabac vise à protéger la santé des Néo-Brunswickois, surtout les jeunes, en limitant leur accès aux produits du tabac et prévenant l’étalage des produits du tabac, ce qui permet de réduire la visibilité du tabac. À partir du 1er janvier 2016, la Loi sur les ventes de tabac interdit la vente de tous les produits du tabac aromatisés, y compris le menthol, au Nouveau-Brunswick. La vente de cigarettes électroniques et de liquide à vapoter est également interdite aux personnes âgées de moins de 19 ans.
Consulter le document en ligne.

Loi de la taxe sur le tabac 
Gouvernement du Nouveau-Brunswick
La hausse du prix des produits du tabac à l’aide de taxes dissuade les jeunes à commencer à fumer. L’augmentation des droits de permis décourage les détaillants de vendre du tabac, ce qui réduit le nombre global de détaillants de produits du tabac.
Consulter le document en ligne.

Adolescents et jeunes adultes: Taux de tabagisme et susceptibilité au tabagisme

L'influence des réseaux sociaux sur la consommation de tabac chez les adolescents
Coalition antitabac du Nouveau-Brunswick - 2017
Cette infographie présente quelques statistiques clés sur la façon dont les médias sociaux favorisent le tabagisme chez les adolescents.
Version JPG.
Version PDF.

 

L'influence des films sur la consommation de tabac chez les adolescents 
Coalition antitabac du Nouveau-Brunswick - 2017
Cette infographie présente quelques statistiques clés liées à l'usage du tabac dans les films et son influence sur les adolescents.
Version JPG.
Version PDF. 

 

Susceptibilité au tabagisme chez les jeunes du Nouveau-Brunswick
Coalition antitabac du Nouveau-Brunswick et Conseil de la santé du Nouveau-Brunswick - 2014
La susceptibilité au tabagisme se définit comme « l’absence d’intention ferme de ne pas fumer ». Cela s’applique aux jeunes qui n’ont jamais essayé de fumé, mais qui risquent de le faire à l’avenir. La susceptibilité est donc utile pour prédire quels jeunes deviendront des fumeurs. Ce document présente des statistiques sur les jeunes au Nouveau-Brunswick ainsi que des idées sur la façon dont les parents et les enseignants peuvent agir pour réduire la susceptibilité au tabagisme chez les jeunes.
Télécharger le document (format PDF). 

 

 

Vivre sans tabac: une priorité au Nouveau-Brunswick
Conseil de la santé du Nouveau-Brunswick - 2017
Cette infographie présente  des statistiques clés sur l'usage du tabac au Nouveau-Brunswick, incluant chez les jeunes. Par exemple, selon le Conseil de la santé du Nouveau-Brunswick, 9 000 jeunes du Nouveau-Brunswick sont à risque de devenir des fumeurs.
Télécharger le document (format PDF).

 

 

 

 

Sondage sur le mieux-être des élèves du Nouveau-Brunswick - 6e à 12e année
Ministère du Développement social au Nouveau-Brunswick
Le Sondage sur le mieux-être des élèves du Nouveau-Brunswick est un projet provincial de la Direction du mieux-être du ministère du Développement social mené avec la collaboration du ministère de l’Éducation et du Développement de la petite enfance. La collecte et l’analyse des données ont été effectuées par le Conseil de la santé du Nouveau-Brunswick. Le but de ce sondage est d’examiner les attitudes et les comportements liés à la santé et au mieux-être des élèves de la 6e à la 12e année, et de partager ces données afin de promouvoir les actions entourant le mieux-être. Les données du Sondage ont été colligées auprès de 38 573 élèves dans 183 écoles au Nouveau-Brunswick.

Sondage sur le mieux-être des élèves du N.-B. : 6e à 12e année (2015-2016)

 

Enquête sur le tabagisme chez les jeunes: 2012-2013
Santé Canada - 2013
L'Enquête sur le tabagisme chez les jeunes assure un suivi opportun et précis de la consommation de produits du tabac chez les jeunes d'âge scolaire (de la 6e à la 12e année). Notez bien que le Nouveau-Brunswick n’a pas participé en 2012-2013.

 

Enquête canadienne sur le tabac, l'alcool et les drogues chez les élèves
Statistiques Canada et Santé Canada - 2018
L'enquête nationale -- qui évalue les taux de tabagisme et de consommation d'alcool et de drogues chez les étudiants canadiens âgés de 7 à 12 ans (du secondaire 1 au secondaire 5 au Québec) -- fournit de précieux renseignements qui contribueront aux approches adoptées pour s'attaquer à des problèmes sociaux et de santé complexes, tels que la consommation problématique de tabac, d'alcool et de drogues, y compris les opioïdes et le cannabis.

Enquête canadienne sur le tabac, l'alcool et les drogues 
Statistiques Canada et Santé Canada - 2018
L'Enquête canadienne sur le tabac, l'alcool et les drogues est une enquête bisannuelle auprès de la population générale sur la consommation de tabac, d'alcool et de drogues chez les Canadiens âgés de 15 ans et plus. 

Prévenir la consommation problématique de substances chez les jeunes
Administratrice en chef de la santé publique - Gouvernement du Canada (2018)
Informez-vous sur ce que vous pouvez faire pour contribuer à la sensibilisation à la prévention, à la réduction des méfaits, au traitement et au rétablissement - consommation de substances chez les jeunes.
Consultez le rapport ici.

 

Adolescents et jeunes adultes: Sensibilisation envers les dangers du tabagisme

Mouvement du mieux-être
Ministère du Développement social au Nouveau-Brunswick
Encourage les collectivités, les groupes, les écoles et les milieux de travail à prendre un engagement communautaire favorable aux saines habitudes de vie, dont un mode de vie sans tabac. 
Consultez le site Web mieuxetrenb.ca pour obtenir plus d’information.

 

 

 

Faites de votre maison et de votre voiture des environnements sans fumée: Informations pour les jeunes
Santé Canada - 2015
Ce guide vise à aider les jeunes dont les parents fument à se débarrasser de la fumée secondaire dans la maison et la voiture familiales et à leur donner des conseils pour rallier leur famille à la cause.
Consulter la version en ligne.
Télécharger la version en format PDF. 

 

 

Conservez une vie sans fumée pour vos enfants
Santé Canada - 2010
En étant sensibilisés aux facteurs de risque possibles relatifs à l'usage du tabac, vous pourrez mieux vous préparer à appuyer des choix sains sans tabac pour vos enfants. Ce guide propose aux parents des stratégies et des conseils pratiques à utiliser avec leurs enfants et adolescents afin de les aider à ne pas fumer.
Voir le site Web. 

 

 

Zone des jeunes - Préoccupations liées à la santé - Tabagisme
Santé Canada - 2010
Trop de jeunes Canadiens sont encore tentés par la cigarette. Ce site présente de l'information et des faits sur le tabagisme, sur les effets de la cigarette sur le corps et l'environnement et sur qui réellement profite des ventes de cigarettes, afin que les jeunes puissent prendre une décision éclairée sur le tabac. 
Voir le site Web.

 

Freeze the Industry - Campagne des adolescents et jeunes adultes pour appuyer la politique proposée sur les emballages des produits du tabac
Freeze the Industry (campagne)
Freeze the industry est un mouvement vaste et en plein essor, formé de jeunes activistes  qui militent contre l’industrie du tabac. Leur mission est de dénoncer le faux sentiment de puissance des compagnies de tabac à l’égard de la société et de les responsabiliser pour les torts qu’elles causent.  
Voir le site Web.

Adolescents et jeunes adultes: Renoncement au tabac

Je te laisse! 
Santé Canada
Je te laisse vous encourage à mettre un terme à votre mauvaise relation avec la cigarette et à vivre sans fumée. De plus, l'application Je te laisse (gratuite) vous aide à combattre ces moments de faiblesse pour que vous puissiez écraser la cigarette une fois pour toutes.
Voir le site Web. 

 

 



Vie 100 fumée
Santé Canada - 2012
Savais-tu qu'il faut plus que de la bonne volonté pour arrêter de fumer? Il faut non seulement avoir des compétences et de l'aide, mais il faut également être très motivé. Le nouveau livret Vie100Fumer (V100F) peut t'aider à arrêter de fumer... pour la vie. V100F comporte quatre étapes clés : prépare-toi mentalement, fais marcher tes méninges, cherche du soutien, et prends-toi en main. Le livret t'aidera à comprendre pourquoi tu fumes, comment arrêter de fumer et comment éviter les rechutes.
Consulter la version en ligne. 

Sur la voie de la réussite: Guide pour devenir non-fumeur pour jeunes adultes
 
Santé Canada - 2013
Que vous soyez près ou loin de l'objectif d'arrêter de fumer, la présente brochure vous aidera à déterminer ce que vous voulez faire et vous fournira les renseignements nécessaires pour progresser. Les étapes sont simples et vous aideront à arrêter de fumer pour de bon. Sur la voie de la réussite expose les faits, offre des éléments de réflexion et vous permet d'acquérir les compétences et de trouver la motivation nécessaire pour élaborer un plan lorsque vous décidez d'arrêter de fumer.
Consulter la version en ligne.
Télécharger la version en format PDF.

Adolescents et jeunes adultes: Subventions et financement

Subventions pour le mieux-être dans les écoles
Ministère du Développement social au Nouveau-Brunswick
Ces subventions ont pour but d'encourager et appuyer les écoles du Nouveau-Brunswick qui veulent contribuer au mieux-être de leurs élèves et de la collectivité. Les subventions sont offertes pour aider financièrement les écoles à mettre sur pied l’approche globale de la santé en milieu scolaire dans le but de favoriser la santé mentale, la saine alimentation, l’activité physique et la réduction du tabagisme chez les élèves et dans leur collectivité.
Voir le site Web.

Programme de subvention pour la promotion de la vie sans tabac
Ministère du Développement social au Nouveau-Brunswick
Ce programme fournit des subventions maximales de 5 000 $ pour financer des initiatives communautaires qui visent à accroitre la vie sans tabac et qui renforcent l’action communautaire en mettant l’accent sur les initiatives menées par des jeunes, les partenariats et les actions globales.
Voir le site Web.

Adolescents et jeunes adultes: Autres ressources

N'oubliez pas de consulter les pages suivantes de notre site Web qui présentent des ressources sur la sensibilisation aux dangers du tabagisme:

  • Cigarettes électroniques, produits de vapotage et tabac aromatisé
    Informations et statistiques sur les effets sur la santé et les risques des cigarettes électroniques, les produits de vapotage, le tabac aromatisé les pipes à eau, le hookah, et la shisha. 

  • Cannabis
    Information sur la légalisation du cannabis au Canada, liens vers des rapports sur l'usage de cannabis et ressources pour sensibiliser le public sur le sujet, y compris les risques pour la santé.
  • Champions de la vie sans tabac
    Une source d'inspiration! La vision de la Coalition antitabac du Nouveau-Brunswick est une province sans tabac. Afin d’appuyer cette vision, elle est fière de partager des histoires à succès de la part d’individus, de groupes et d’organisations qui ont posé des actions concrètes pour vivre sans tabac dans leurs maisons, écoles, lieux de travail et communautés. Plusieurs histoires présentent des projets entrepris par des groupes de jeunes, des écoles, des collèges et des universités.