new brunswick anti tobacco coalition
Home Site Map Français Contact Us
http://nbatc.ca/en/uploads/images/topImages/header_help_to_quit.png
Help to Quit: Resources

New Brunswick | Canada | International

 

Individuals looking to quit smoking

If you are a smoker looking to quit smoking, there are many excellent - services and resources available to help you. 

Smoking cessation support is offered to patients of Horizon Health Network’s hospitals and health centres. Please click here to find your local Horizon Health facility.

Smoking Cessation Clinics are offered by Vitalité Health Network.The clinics provide individual consultations to those who want to stop smoking. Smokers interested in stopping are monitored by a counselor who provides information and tips on giving up tobacco. Contact your nearest clinic to set up an appointment.

We also recommend you contact the Smoker’s Helpline. Smokers' Helpline is a free, confidential service operated by the Canadian Cancer Society offering support and information about quitting smoking and tobacco useSmokers' Helpline is evidence-based, non-judgmental and personalized. Bilingual services are offered by phone and online at 1 877 513-5333 and http://smokershelpline.ca/.

You can download and read a copy of the “On the Road to Quitting” guides by Health Canada. These guides will give you the information and skills you need to successfully stop smoking. Spend some time reviewing the booklets to understand what to expect during your quit attempt and learn tips to help you along the way.  

Finally, you will find below a list of additional resources related to quitting smoking.

 

Health professionals

A complete list of resources related to smoking cessation is listed below. 

 

New Brunswick 

NBATC Cessation Inventory
The cessation inventory contains a listing of cessation resources for individuals, workplace leaders, health care providers and to assist in capacity building that are available to NBATC stakeholders.

NBATC Electronic Cigarette Fact Sheet

NBATC Webinar: The 'QUI CESSE GAGNE!' (The Biggest Quitter) Challenge: An initiative of the Anti-tobacco Coalition of the Acadian Peninsula. How to implement a tobacco-free living challenge in your community.

SkillsNB
SkillsNB has many free smoking cessation resources. You first need to create a free account to access the resource library. The following resources are of interest to smokers who want to quit:

  • Stop Smoking: 52 Brilliant Ideas to Kick the habit for Good
  • Staying Sane when You’re Trying to Quit Smoking
  • Smoke-free and No Buts

Harvest House Atlantic - Stop Smoking, Start Living! Course

Week 1
Week 2
Week 3
Week 4
Week 5
Week 6
Week 7

Horizon Health Network - Smoking Cessation Program

Vitalité Health Network - Smoking Cessation Clinic



Canadian 

Smokers' Helpline

Canadian Partnership Against Cancer: Cessation Aids and Coverage in Canada
This infographic provides an overview of the coverage of tobacco cessation aids by federal, provincial and territorial governments, as of April 2017.

Canadian Partnership Against Cancer: Key Costs Estimates on Cancer Treatment and Smoking Cessation in Canada

Canadian Partnership Against Cancer: Leading Practices in Clinical Smoking Cessation V 2.0

Tobacco: The Role of Health Professionals in Smoking Cessation - Health Professionals' Position Statement 
This statement was developed cooperatively by the Canadian Association of Occupational Therapists, Canadian Counseling and Psychotherapy Association, Canadian Dental Hygienists Association, the Canadian Medical Association, Canadian Nurses Association, and the Canadian Physiotherapy Association. .

CAN-ADAPTT
The Canadian Action Network for the Advancement, Dissemination and Adoption of Practice-informed Tobacco Treatment (CAN-ADAPTT) is a Practice-Based Research Network (PBRN) committed to facilitating research and knowledge exchange among those who are in positions to help smokers make changes to their behaviour (e.g., practitioners, healthcare/service providers) and researchers in the area of smoking cessation.

Health Canada
Health Canada provides a vast array of information related to tobacco control. This site provides information on quitting smoking, research, resources, second-hand smoke, health effects of smoking, youth resources, federal legislation, and answers to frequently asked questions.

On the Road to Quitting - Guide for Adults

On the Road to Quitting - Guide for Young Adults

Quit 4 Life - Break the habit
The new Health Canada Quit4Life (Q4L) web site can help you to quit smoking... for life. Q4L is organized around 4 central steps: Get Psyched, Get Smart, Get Support, Get On With It. The site has been re-designed as an interactive and personalized 4 week web program. Check out the Quit 4 Life website now!

Expecting to Quit
A review by the British Columbia Centre of Excellence for Women’s Health that examines smoking cessation best practice interventions designed to reduce or eliminate smoking in pregnant and postpartum girls and women.

Pregnets: Website dedicated to improving the health of mothers, fetuses, babies and children 
The Pregnets website hosts up-to-date information on smoking cessation practices for pregnant and postpartum women. The site offers a toolkit for health care professionals, a printer-friendly Nicotine Dependency Test and an anonymous Online Discussion Board.

Quitlines for Smoking Cessation: An Effective and Available Referral Option for Healthcare Providers

Ontario Tobacco Research Unit's (OTRU) On-line Course: Tobacco and Public Health: From Theory to Practice. An award-winning online course that offers a Canadian-focused overview on tobacco control research, policy, and practice. The course contains four modules in both English and French:

 

  • Prevention
  • Protection
  • Cessation
  • Evaluation

Radon- Another Reason to Quit- Health Canada

Registered Nurses Association of Ontario: Nursing Best Practice Smoking Cessation Initiative

University of Ottawa Heart institute: Ottawa Model for Smoking Cessation

Social Marketing to Influence Young Adult's Tobacco Behaviour

Workplace Tobacco Cessation Initiatives for Young Adults

What is the Single Best Thing You Can Do to Quit Smoking?
Dr. Mike Evans - You Tube video on Smoking Cessation- Made possible by the CANADAPTT project

Break It Off - Join the World's Biggest Break Up

Canadain Partnership Against Cancer: Leading Practices in First Nations, Inuit and Métis Smoking Cessation Program Scan

Canadian Partnership Against Cancer: 1 in 3 Smoking Cessation Infographic

Smoking Cost Calculator from Health Canada
Health Canada’s Smoking Cost Calculator can help smokers how much money they could save on cigarettes and tobacco products if they were to quit smoking. 

Strategies to help patients stop smoking: the optometrist's perspective
Discusses tobacco's toll on individual and public health, and presents what is currently known about cigarette smoking's risk to ocular health and what eye care professionals – specifically optometrists – can do to help address tobacco use with their patients.

Busting Myths About Smoking Cessation: Special Report

With limited population-level research, myths about smoking cessation persist. Research from the Ontario Tobacco Survey (OTS) has improved our understanding of smoking cessation in the general population. Key facts and findings are summarized, including the frequency and number of quit attempts, the duration and effectiveness of cessation medications, trajectories of smoking, and the effectiveness of population-level initiatives on cessation behaviours.

International

Professional Assisted Cessation Therapy (U.S.)
PACT is an independent consortium of leaders in the treatment of tobacco dependence whose mission is to lower barriers to broader utilization of cessation therapy. PACT is dedicated to helping health professionals help their patients to help themselves.

Smoking Cessation Leadership Center (U.S.)
The Smoking Cessation Leadership Center (SCLC) aims to increase smoking cessation rates and increase the number of health professionals who help smokers quit.

Treatobacco.net Database & Education Resource for Treatment of Tobacco Dependence (U.S.)
Treatobacco.net presents authoritative evidence-based information about the treatment of tobacco dependence. Information is organized under these five headings: Efficacy, Safety, Demographics and Health Effects, Health Economics, and Policy

Strategies to help patients stop smoking: the optometrist's perspective
Discusses tobacco's toll on individual and public health, and presents what is currently known about cigarette smoking's risk to ocular health and what eye care professionals – specifically optometrists – can do to help address tobacco use with their patients.

Neuropsychiatric safety and efficacy of varenicline, bupropion, and nicotine patch in smokers with and without psychiatric disorders (EAGLES): a double-blind, randomised, placebo-controlled clinical trial
By Robert M Anthenelli, Neal L Benowitz, Robert West, Lisa St Aubin, Thomas McRae, David Lawrence, John Ascher, Cristina Russ, Alok Krishen, A Eden Evins. Published in The Lancet, 2016. 

Managing smoking cessation
Robert D. Reid PhD MBA, Gillian Pritchard MPH, Kathryn Walker MScPT, Debbie Aitken BScN, Kerri-Anne Mullen PhD, Andrew L. Pipe MD, Published in the CMAJ Review, 2016

Coalition antitabac du N.-B.
Accueil Plan du Site English Contactez-nous
http://www.nbatc.ca/fr/uploads/images/topImages/header_help_to_quit.png
Aide au renoncement : Ressources

Nouveau-Brunswick | Canadien | International

 

Individus qui veulent cesser de fumer

Si vous voulez cesser de fumer, de nombreux services et ressources sont à votre disposition.

Des cliniques d’abandon du tabac sont offertes par le Réseau de santé Vitalité. La clinique d’abandon du tabac offre des services de consultation individuelle aux patients qui veulent arrêter de fumer. Les personnes qui fument et veulent arrêter peuvent être suivies par un conseiller qui donne de l’information et des conseils pratiques sur l’abandon du tabac. Veuillez appeler à la clinique d’abandon du tabac la plus près de chez vous pour fixer un rendez-vous.

Le Réseau de santé Horizon offre du soutien aux patients dans ses hôpitaux et centres de santé. Veuillez consulter cette liste pour trouver l’établissement le plus près de chez-vous

Nous vous recommandons aussi de contacter la Téléassistance pour fumeurs. Téléassistance pour fumeurs est un service gratuit et confidentiel administré par la Société canadienne du cancer offrant du soutien et de l'information sur l'abandon du tabac et l'usage du tabac. La Téléassistance pour fumeurs est un service personnalisé basé sur les preuves et offert sans porter de jugement. Des services bilingues sont offerts au téléphone et en ligne au 1 877 513-5333 et à http://www.teleassistancepourfumeurs.ca/.  

Vous pouvez télécharger et lire les guides « Sur la voie de la réussite » de Santé Canada. Ces guides vous doteront des renseignements et des compétences dont vous aurez besoin pour cesser de fumer pour de bon. Prenez le temps de lire ces guides. Ils vous permettront d'évaluer vos options, de savoir à quoi vous attendre lorsque vous renoncerez au tabac et d'apprendre des trucs qui vous aideront tout au long de votre cheminement. 

Enfin, plusieurs ressources additionnelles sur l’abandon du tabac sont affichée ci-dessous.

 

Professionnels de la santé

Plusieurs ressources sur l'abandon du tabac sont affichées ci-dessous. 

 

Nouveau-Brunswick

Ressources clés en matière de renoncement du Nouveau-Brunswick
Cet inventaire des ressources clés en matière de renoncement a été compilé par la Coalition antitabac du Nouveau-Brunswick (CATNB).

CATNB La cigarette électronique

Webinare CATNB: Le défi "QUI CESSE GAGNE!"  Une initiative de la Coalition anti-tabac de la Péninsule Acadienne. Comment implanter, dans votre communauté, le défi d'une vie sans tabac.

Joignez le mouvement du mieux-être encourage les collectivités, les groupes, les écoles et les milieux de travail à prendre un engagement communautaire favorable aux saines habitudes de vie, dont un mode de vie sans tabac. Éviter l’exposition à la fumée secondaire est l’un des aspects importants d’un mode de vie sans tabac. Consultez mieuxetrenb.ca pour obtenir plus d’information et pour faire votre engagement à cesser de fumer.

CompétencesNB
CompétencesNB offre plusieurs ressources pour les gens qui veulent cesser de fumer. Ces ressources sont gratuites, mais vous devez créer un compte pour accéder à leur bibliothèque en ligne. Les ressources suivantes intéresseront les fumeurs qui veulent cesser de fumer: 

  • Stop Smoking: 52 Brilliant Ideas to Kick the habit for Good
  • Staying Sane when You’re Trying to Quit Smoking
  • Smoke-free and No Buts

Harvest House Atlantic - Cours Stop Smoking, Start Living! (en anglais seulement)

Semaine 1
Semaine 2
Semaine 3
Semaine 4
Semaine 5
Semaine 6
Semaine 7
 
Réseau de santé Vitalité - Clinique d'abandon du tabac
Réseau de santé Horizon - Programme d'abandon du tabac



Canadien

Téléassistance pour fumeurs
 
Partenariat canadien contre le cancer: Couverture des aides au renoncement au Canada
Cette infographie présente un survol de la couverture des aides à l'abandon du tabagisme par les gouvernements territoriaux, provinciaux et fédéral, en date du mois d'avril 2018.
 
Partnenariat canadien contre le cancer: Estimation des principaux coûts du traitement contre le cancer et de l'abandon du tabagisme au Canada.  
 
Exposé de position des professionnels de la santé (en anglais seulement)
Cette déclaration a été mise au point conjointement par l’Association canadienne des ergothérapeutes, l’Association canadienne des travailleuses et travailleurs sociaux, l’Association dentaire canadienne, l’Association médicale canadienne, l’Association des infirmières et infirmiers du Canada, l’Association des pharmaciens du Canada, l’Association canadienne de physiothérapie, la Société canadienne de psychologie et la Société canadienne des thérapeutes respiratoires.

CAN-ADAPTT 
Le Réseau d’action canadien pour l’avancement, la diffusion et l’adoption de pratiques éclairées dans le traitement du tabagisme est un réseau de recherche basée sur la pratique (RRBP) qui se consacre à faciliter la recherche et le partage des connaissances parmi les professionnels qui sont en mesure d’aider les fumeurs à apporter des modifications à leur comportement (p. ex., les praticiens et les fournisseurs de soins ou de services de santé) et les chercheurs dans le domaine de l’abandon du tabac.

Santé Canada
Santé Canada offre une vaste gamme d’information sur la lutte contre le tabagisme. Ce site offre des renseignements sur la désaccoutumance, la recherche, les ressources, la fumée secondaire, l’impact du tabagisme sur la santé, les ressources à la portée des jeunes, la législation fédérale et les réponses aux questions fréquemment posées.

Sur la voie de la réussite - Guide pour les adultes

Sur la voie de la réussite - Guide pour les jeunes adultes

Vie 100 fumer - Cassez l'habitude
Le nouveau site Web de Vie 100 fumer (V100F) peut t’aider à cesser de fumer…pour vie. Vie 100 fumer comporte quatre étapes clés : Prépare-toi mentalement, Fais marcher tes méninges, Cherche du soutien, Prends-toi en main. Le site a été complètement modifié fin d’offrir un programme Web interactif et personnalisé de quatre semaines. Examinez dès maintenant le site Web Vie 100 fumer

Le renoncement au tabac et la grossesse: Un examen des pratiques exemplaires de renoncement au tabac conçues pour les filles et les femmes pendant la grossesse et la période postnatale
Un examen des pratiques exemplaires de renoncement au tabac conçues pour les filles et les femmes pendant la grossesse et la période postnatale

Pregnets : site Web consacré à améliorer la santé des mères, des fœtus, des bébés et des enfants (en anglais seulement)
Le site Web Pregnets offre les tout derniers renseignements sur les pratiques de désaccoutumance aux femmes enceintes ou post-partum. Le site offre un coffret à outils à l’intention des professionnels de la santé, un test de dépendance à la nicotine par imprimante et un centre de messages informatisé garantissant l’anonymat.

Cours en ligne de l’Unité de recherche sur la tabagisme de l’Ontario: Le tabagisme et la santé publique: de la théorie à la pratique    Un cours en ligne qui offre une vue d'ensemble de la recherche sur la lutte, les politiques et les pratiques antitabacs. Le cours comprend quatre modules en français et en anglais :

 

  • Prévention
  • Protection
  • Abandon du tabagisme
  • Évaluation

Le radon - Une autre raison d’arrêter – Santé Canada

L’Association des infirmières et infirmiers autorisés de l’Ontario:  Nursing Best Practice Smoking Cessation Initiative

Institut de cardiologie de l’Université de Ottawa: Modele d’Ottawa pour l’abandon du tabac

Le Partenariat canadien contre le cancer: 1 sur 3 - infographie

La Calculatrice de coûts que représente les cigarettes de Santé Canada
La Calculatrice de coûts que représente les cigarettes de Santé Canada aide les fumeurs à savoir combien d'argent ils pourraient économiser sur les cigarettes et produits du tabac s’ils arrêtent de fumer. 

Faire sauter les mythes de l'abandon du tabac (en anglais seulement)
Cette recherche de l'Ontario Tobacco Survey s'intéresse entre autres aux nombres de tentatives d'abandon du tabac, de l'efficacité d'initiatives populaires et de la durée et de l'efficacité de médicaments pour abandonner le tabac.

International 

Traitement de désaccoutumance accompagné d'aide professionnelle (PACT) (en anglais seulement)
PACT est un consortium indépendant de spécialistes de la dépendance au tabac dont la mission est d’éliminer les barrières qui font obstacle à l’utilisation des traitements de désaccoutumance. Ce programme vise à aider les professionnels de la santé, afin que ces derniers puissent aider leurs patients à s’aider eux-mêmes.

Centre de formation des leaders spécialisés dans la désaccoutumance (États-Unis) (en anglais seulement)
L’objet du Centre de formation des spécialistes de la désaccoutumance est d’augmenter le taux d’abandon et le nombre de professionnels de la santé qui aident les fumeurs à cesser de fumer.

Treatobacco.net Database & Education Resource for Treatment of Tobacco Dependence (U.S.)
Ce site offre des renseignements sur le traitement du tabagisme, basés sur des preuves scientifiques. L’information est organisée en cinq sections : efficacité, innocuité, démographie et impact sur la santé, économie de la santé, et politique.

Strategies to help patients stop smoking: the optometrist's perspective
Discute les effets du tabac sur la santé individuelle et publique, et présente ce que l'on sait actuellement quant aux effets de la cigarette sur la santé oculaire oculaire et - en particulier - ce que peuvent faire les optométristes - pour déconseiller leurs patients quant à l’usage du tabac.  

Neuropsychiatric safety and efficacy of varenicline, bupropion, and nicotine patch in smokers with and without psychiatric disorders (EAGLES): a double-blind, randomised, placebo-controlled clinical trial
By Robert M Anthenelli, Neal L Benowitz, Robert West, Lisa St Aubin, Thomas McRae, David Lawrence, John Ascher, Cristina Russ, Alok Krishen, A Eden Evins. Published in The Lancet, 2016. 

Managing smoking cessation
Robert D. Reid PhD MBA, Gillian Pritchard MPH, Kathryn Walker MScPT, Debbie Aitken BScN, Kerri-Anne Mullen PhD, Andrew L. Pipe MD, Published in the CMAJ Review, 2016

The 9 Most Important Things You Can Do to Keep Your Heart Healthy (en anglais seulement) 
Par Sarah Gerhke, ACLS Training Center
(Article avec de bons conseils pour la santé cardiovasculiare, incluant l'abandon du tabac.) 

Heart Disease in Women - Fact and Statistics
ACLS Training Center
(Prévenir les maladies cardiaques chez les femmes implique de prendre les bonnes mesures en fonction des circonstances individuelles, par exemple, maintenir une tension artérielle saine, réduire les taux élevés de LDL (mauvais cholestérol), diminuer le poids et cesser de fumer).

Cardiac Disease in the Young
ACLS Training Center
(Bien qu'il existe plusieurs facteurs de risque modifiables associés aux maladies cardiovasculaires chez les jeunes, les plus courants sont la consommation de tabac et de drogues, l'hypertension et le taux élevé de cholestérol LDL.)